Architecture Award

The Architecture Award celebrates the most innovative and effective use of galvanized steelwork in architectural projects.

The prize for this architecture competition will consider all sizes of projects and the functionality, as well as the aesthetics of the structure will be judged. Judging of the architecture award is based on merit and not the scale of the project.

“”It is a project we’ve been working for a number of years and to receive what it is for us a great national award, it is a great achievement.” Robin Dryer, director of chadwick dryer clarke studio

The Galvanizing Awards are a free annual competition which has been recognising the use of galvanizing since 1994.

We see galvanized steel as a national asset within the UK and Ireland, which will play an increased role within circular economies. As an infinitely re-usable and versatile material it can form the backbone of adaptive and resilient architecture and infrastructure. Our awards show increasingly that architects, engineers, designers and indeed artists are finding new ways to harness the lifecycle potential of galvanized steel.
Iqbal Johal, Marketing Manager at Galvanizers Association

Why the Architectural Award

When participating in architecture competitions, you get to meet and network with other professionals in the industry and celebrate excellence in your field.

Listed below are the reasons why you should enter the GAGAs.

  • Get recognition for your project.
  • Get featured in Hot Dip Galvanizing Magazine (see below).
  • Be a part of our PR campaign.
  • Win a unique galvanized watering can.
  • Raise the profile of your practice.

The big thing about the GAGAs is having fun, getting people together, sharing information and recognising innovative use of galvanized steel.” Iqbal Johal

Eligibility for the Architectural Award Category

All projects, new or refurbished, from across the UK and Ireland, completed after 1st January 2018 are eligible. All UK companies can enter a project located overseas.

All we need from you are:
1. Good quality photos
2. A short description of where galvanizing was used

Regardless of whether you have a small, artistic installation or a large-scale industrial building, all projects are judged on merit not scale.


“A great event, relaxed, informal, beautiful location,
and we won our second galvanized watering can!” David McKenna – Architecture Award Winner

Visibility for Architecture Award Contestants

Hot Dip Galvanizing is a free, international magazine produced on a quarterly basis. Featuring projects from the UK, Ireland and Europe, one issue is dedicated every year to the winning projects.

The GAGA brochure showcases the shortlisted and the winning projects.

Additionally, all shortlisted projects get a profile on our website.

“It’s really nice to be in the company of so many talented architects and designers. I wasn’t expecting the shortlist to be so strong and it’s quite humbling to be one of the winners…”
Architecture Award Winner
–  Tonkin Liu Architects, Old Shed New House

Winners of the Architectural Award

Architecture Award Winner 2020

click to enlarge

Architecture Award Winners 2020

The Architecture Award went to joint winners, both radical solutions at heritage sites. Fordham Abbey Dojima Sake Brewery, near Ely in Cambridgeshire, has established a new standard in rural production and is the first traditional sake brewery in the UK.

Studio Cullinan and Buck Architects Ltd (SCABAL) with Kay Pilsbury Thomas Architects (KPTA) used galvanized steel to create a structure that not only meets the specific climatic conditions required for the traditional brewing process, but also provides an open visitor space for viewing, educating and cross – cultural exchange.

Architecture Award Winner 2020

click to enlarge

The Hill House Box in Helensburgh by Carmody Groarke presents a radical departure in conservation. Erected as a vast temporary museum to shelter The Hill House, Charles Rennie Mackintosh’s residential masterpiece which is undergoing restoration, it consists of a giant galvanized box with walls covered entirely in a steel chainmail mesh.

Rather than incarcerate the house away from view whilst the restoration is undertaken, a more radical approach to active conservation has been taken. As an integral part of this conservation process, which could take up to ten years, a ‘big-box’ temporary museum to contain and protect The Hill House as an ‘artefact’ has been built. This allows the house to dry out and be conserved, whilst enabling visitors to see the conservation process first hand and maintain public access to the historic interiors.
Read more about the 2020 architecture award winners.

Architecture Award Winner 2019 2020

click to enlarge

Architecture Award Winner 2019

The 2019 Architecture Award winner was The Rising Path, completed by Chadwick dryer clarke studio, a structure for Cambridge University Botanic Garden.

A dynamic spiral, the 96-metre long Rising Path features an interpretation hub and 3-metre high elevated viewpoint, designed to inspire visitors to explore the Garden’s Systematic Beds with fresh eyes and greater knowledge. Read more about the 2019 architecture award winner.

Architecture Award 2018

click to enlarge

Architecture Award Winner 2018

The 2018 Architecture Award winner was ‘Old Shed New House’ by Tonkin Liu Architects.

‘Old Shed New House’ is a home nestled within the agricultural landscape of North Yorkshire. The client sought a high quality, energy-efficient and low-cost building to serve as a house, library and gallery. Read more about the 2018 architecture award winner.

Architecture Award Winner 2017

Architecture Award 2017

click to enlarge

The 2017 Architecture Award winner was “Greenwich Peninsula Low Carbon Energy Centre” by C.F. Møller Architects.

The Greenwich Peninsula is one of London’s major urban development areas, including 15,700 new homes, over 300,000 m² of office space and the conversion of the former Millennium Dome into the indoor arena renamed The O2. Read more about the 2017 architecture award winner.

Previous winners of the architecture award